Addressing Problematic Sexual Behaviors (PSBs) in Children and Adolescents

Registrations: 100

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Mar 30th, 2022 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Wed, Mar 30th, 2022 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Wed, Mar 30th, 2022 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Wed, Mar 30th, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    When a child or adolescent sexually acts out it can be a scary experience for not just a parent, but also for the provider working with the family.  This talk will first correct common myths and misconceptions of children who sexually act out (e.g., the supermajority of these children are highly responsive to treatment and are NOT pedophiles).  The second aspect of this talk will be a walk through the evidence for how to treat these children and the likelihood of success (e.g., with appropriate, evidence-based practices children 3 to 18 who engage in these behaviors are up to 95% successful in treatment and do not sexually re-offend again).  Evidence for effective approaches and concrete examples and tips for working with these children and their families will be the main focus of this talk.

    At the end of this presentation the learner should be able to:

    • Basic information on how child/adolescent PSB’s are qualitatively different than pedophilia.
    • A conceptual understanding of how to help these children and adolescents.
    • Application of specific techniques to address PSB’s in children and adolescents.

     

    Other Webinars with this Speaker

     

    Or click here to view and register for other upcoming Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault webinars on the JCH Platform.

    Additional Resources
    1 year ago
    More than Words: The Emotional Maltreatment of Children
    Webinar Video Clip: More Than Words - The Emotional Maltreatment of Children   There ar […]
    1 year ago
    Case Studies in Law Enforcement Encounters with Individuals on the Autism Spectrum
    This session is the final installment of the Autism Spectrum Disorder webinar series. Tying up what […]
    2 years ago
    Wandering and Elopement in Children with Autism and NCMEC Resources
    Having a child go missing or runaway is highly stressful for parents. When the missing child has spe […]
    2 years ago
    Recognizing the Signs of Victimization in Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder
    On the first installment of this webinar series, Dr. Wes Dotson provided a comprehensive introductio […]
    X