Active Listening and Basic De-escalation for the Animal Welfare and Control Professional

Registrations: 26

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Oct 5th, 2021 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM ET
Tue, Oct 5th, 2021 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM CT
Tue, Oct 5th, 2021 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM MT
Tue, Oct 5th, 2021 10:00 AM - 11:15 AM PT

    First Name

    Last Name

    Organization Name

    Email

    Job Title

    Justice Domain

    Your Location

    By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

    The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

    Animal Control Officers and shelter personnel are routinely in situations where conflict with members of the public can occur. This training, conducted by a Conflict Intervention Team (CIT) trained ACO will break down the basics of active listening to aid in the successful de-escalation of such situations. This training will also discuss successful ways to manage individuals in crisis and some common warning signs exhibited. Lastly, case examples will be provided to look in-depth at how human crisis intersects with animal welfare both within the shelter and the field.

     

     

     

    Other Webinars with This Speaker

     

     

     

    Or click here to view and register for other upcoming NACA  webinars on the JCH Platform.

     


     

    The National Animal Care & Control Association (NACA) was formed in 1978 for the express purpose of assisting its members to perform their duties in a professional manner. We believe only carefully selected and properly trained animal control personnel can correct community problems resulting from irresponsible animal ownership. NACA’s purpose is to preserve the Human/Animal Bond by insisting on responsible animal ownership.

     

     

     


     

     

    Additional Resources
    1 year ago
    Thoughts on Communication from Dr. Kimberly Miller
    Love this reminder  Dr. Kimberly Miller made during her two-part webinar series, Turning Conflict i […]
    1 year ago
    Turning Conflict Into Conversation
    When people hear about conflict, it conjures thoughts and feelings of betrayal, disappointment, pain […]
    1 year ago
    Making Your Words An Asset Not A Liability: How To Improve What You Say and How You Say It
    Everyone needs to communicate, even those who refuse or are unable to talk utilize non-verbal form o […]
    3 years ago
    Verbal De-Escalation
    As a public servant, part of any criminal justice profession is encountering random strangers, even […]
    X